PDA

View Full Version : Free: Partitioning Tools



allheart55 (Cindy)
02-16-2008, 01:21 AM
CloneZilla GParted LiveCD (http://clonezilla.sourceforge.net/gparted-clonezilla/) (Complete partitioning and drive imaging/restoration tools)
Gparted LiveCD (http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php)
Parted Magic (http://partedmagic.com/)
Vista Recovery Disk (http://coblitz.codeen.org/neosmart.net/downloads/guides/Vista_Repair/Vista_Recovery_Disc_x86.iso) (Shrink, expand, create, delete partitions)
XP Recovery Console CD image (http://www.thecomputerparamedic.com/files/rc.iso) (Create and delete partitions with diskpart.exe)
Partition Logic (http://partitionlogic.org.uk/)
Ranish Partition Manager (http://www.ranish.com/)
Cute Partition Manager (http://www.cutepm.com/)

dale@fcg
02-16-2008, 09:02 AM
Any of these tried and true? Any of them rival Acronis Disk Director or True Image?

Guest11
02-16-2008, 03:25 PM
Do you personally know how many of them work in Vista as I have a problem I think is related to SP1 in Vista where Acronis DD no longer works now. I have been thking about trying Partition Commander (a voice from the past) as a workaround.

allheart55 (Cindy)
02-16-2008, 08:04 PM
I have used Cute Partition Manager with Vista, it's "user friendly" and I didn't have any problems with it.
Cute Partition Manager (It supports all versions of Windows (9x,ME,NT,2K,XP,Vista),
Cute Partition Manager (http://www.cutepm.com/)

I haven't used Partition Logic with Vista, although it's Vista compatible, they don't recommend moving a Vista partition with it.
Partition Logic - Vista (http://partitionlogic.org.uk/manual/vista.html)

Guest11
02-16-2008, 08:33 PM
Thanks Cindy!

allheart55 (Cindy)
02-16-2008, 08:52 PM
http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee216/Tippy1955/smiley%20sm/THUMB_11-1.gif Your welcome, Rich.

dale@fcg
02-16-2008, 11:13 PM
If you are working from a boot disk, not from within OS, could you please explain why it makesa difference what os is loaded on a hd?

allheart55 (Cindy)
02-17-2008, 03:26 PM
If you are working from a boot disk, not from within OS, could you please explain why it makesa difference what os is loaded on a hd?
Ummm, :confused: I sure can't answer that, you must have been asking Rich. Yes, :eek: Rich can answer that question! :D

Guest11
02-17-2008, 03:38 PM
Actually this requires some real thought as technically Dale is right, however if what you are working with is Vista, then you would have issues making changes in it if what you are using is totally incompatible.

allheart55 (Cindy)
02-17-2008, 03:58 PM
I wasn't quite sure if I understood the question. I kept thinking about how many times today I had to reboot my computer, each time removing the XP disk and replacing it with the Vista disk. I lost everything on my desktop except for the wallpaper. I shut down with the task manager and on re-boot I see the "ntldr missing error" on the XP partition. :confused:

Guest11
02-17-2008, 06:31 PM
I wasn't quite sure if I understood the question. I kept thinking about how many times today I had to reboot my computer, each time removing the XP disk and replacing it with the Vista disk. I lost everything on my desktop except for the wallpaper. I shut down with the task manager and on re-boot I see the "ntldr missing error" on the XP partition. :confused:


That doesn't sound good!

dale@fcg
02-17-2008, 07:07 PM
To clarify, my understanding is that hard drive tools like Acronis's True Image and Disk Director deal with hard drives at the sector level. They don't give a hoot what data or files are stored on the drive, or even if it's totally empty. They just analyze what is going on with each sector and then work on the hard drive sectors according to what the user instructs them to do (format, rearrange sectors, clone, etc). They do not care what file types are in the sectors- just what type of format they are saved in (NTFS, FAT32). So therefore, if Vista is installed on a hd, the hd tools wouldn't really even know that- they would still just work on the sectors, platters, tracks, etc on the hard drive. Or am I off base in the above?:confused: I'm all ears :ear: and ready to be schooled if so :redface:

dale@fcg
02-19-2008, 12:44 AM
No explanations forthcoming on how hd tools work at lower level than os, and are not affected by what os or data is on the hd?

allheart55 (Cindy)
02-19-2008, 01:00 AM
Dale, It sounds exactly right to me. I'm not an expert, by any stretch of the imagination but I have used both the Disk Director and True Image, on many occasions. I have three computers that are dual boot with Vista and XP. It hasn't ever questioned my commands or selections as far as the partitioning or imaging. I have partioned and imaged both Operating Systems using Acronis. :mad2: I won't mention what Acronis did recently to one of my computers. :eek: (It had nothing to do with your question, anyway.) ~ Cindy ~

dale@fcg
02-19-2008, 01:08 AM
Cindy
I don't think it would be off topic to bring up what Acronis did. Maybe it'll help rest of us avoid same issue. Many of us here rely on Acronis to bail us out. We need to be aware of the possible pitfalls. Ask John about that! :boink:

allheart55 (Cindy)
02-20-2008, 12:13 AM
Cindy
I don't think it would be off topic to bring up what Acronis did. Maybe it'll help rest of us avoid same issue. Many of us here rely on Acronis to bail us out. We need to be aware of the possible pitfalls. Ask John about that! :boink:
Dale, I don't think it really is an issue. I haven't ever had something like this happen before and it hasn't happened again/since. It may very well have been a combination of Acronis and the computer itself.

I had just finished installing Vista and a few software programs on one of my computers. It had XP on a different partition. I had formatted and partitioned an external drive. I planned on using it for imaging each OS as well as my regular weekly back ups that Windows Live One Care is set to do. I know from having used Acronis many times, as well as having two other computers that are dual boot, you cannot create a "Secure Zone" partition and use it like a "restore partiton". I stress this because it was not my plan. I simply wanted to image Vista on one partiton and XP on the other.
I installed the Acronis software, entered my selections for each external partition and as soon as I touched the enter selection the computer went crazy. Acronis kept attempting to lock both drives. I couldn't stop what was happening. When I brought the task manager up, it literally showed dozens of Acronis running. The shut down button wouldn't turn it off, the task manager was frozen and I could only shut down by unplugging it. I don't know what in the world caused it to react this way but I do know that I input the settings correctly. I chalked it up to (hopefully) a one time catastrophic event.