PDA

View Full Version : [Solved] Trying to Install FF Site Advisor



mommalina
10-21-2006, 07:59 PM
Went to: http://www.siteadvisor.com/download/ff.html

Got message: "Software installation is currently disabled. Click Edit Options ... to enable it and try again."

Clicked Edit Options...: brought me to FF > Options > Content >Warn me when web sites try to install extensions or themes . This is UNchecked.

What now?

Lina

rVidia
10-21-2006, 10:11 PM
Lina:

This brings us back to your AdBlock problem (don't get discouraged). The main reason none of your extensions are working is because software installation is disabled. I will try to walk you through this again; please give this a try :) It's actually very simple if you follow instructions one at a time.

1) Open Firefox.
2) In the address bar where you normally type in a website, type in:
about:config
3) Once there, you will see a Filter bar near the top (below the open tab). In that box, type in:
xpinstall.enabled
4) Look to the very right, underneath the Value column. The value is set to either true or false.
5) If the value is set to false, double-click the word "false" and it will change to true.
6) Once it is set to true, exit out of all open Firefox windows.
7) Re-open Firefox.
8) Try downloading the Site Advisor extension again.

That's it!

If you are able to install Site Advisor by following these instructions, let's move on to AdBlock.

1) Open Firefox.
2) Go to Tools > Extensions
3) See if AdBlock is listed as one of the extensions.
4) If it is, right-click AdBlock and make sure it is enabled. You will know if it is enabled if "Disable" is an option in the right-click menu. If it is not enabled, "Enable" should be an option and you should select that.
5) If AdBlock is not listed in the extensions window, re-install it from here (https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/10/) and close out of/re-open Firefox.

:tea:
Ray

mommalina
10-25-2006, 03:42 PM
Ray, thanks so much for the idiot-proof, simple-to-follow
instructions for both FF Site Advisor and AdBlock.

- I was able to install Site Advisor.

- Apparently, as I suspected, I must have uninstalled AdBlock,
as it did not show up. I installed it successfully with your
instructions (a lot easier to understand and follow
than the previous ones you gave me!)

I'm going to try to find my previous post about AdBlock and
reference this thread for the AdBlock solution.

I was going to apologize for not trying your previous
AdBlock instructions (I was overwhelmed), but I'm glad
I waited. This was much, much easier!

Again, thanks a million, Ray. You sure know your stuff and
how to explain things!...:hail:... :hail:... :hail:... :hail:

Lina

Guest110
10-25-2006, 03:46 PM
I have added site advisor to firefox as well and it has shown on the bottom bit.....is there anyway to move it to the top please

Tortanick
10-25-2006, 05:03 PM
Not that I know off

rVidia
10-25-2006, 05:37 PM
Again, thanks a million, Ray. You sure know your stuff and
how to explain things!
You're very welcome, Lina ;) I always enjoy helping!


I have added site advisor to firefox
BM, see here (http://support.siteadvisor.com/support-center/index.php?x=&mod_id=2&id=57); although you can do so with IE, I don't think it is possible with Firefox.