PDA

View Full Version : FIOS going in - upgrading LAN



Dan18960
12-01-2006, 11:01 AM
Well, I have been sitting on my butt for almost 6 years now only getting 10mbps on my Study and wife's computers (their upstairs and my router is in my downstairs office) - didn't see any reason to open a can of worms (nah, I was just plain L A Z Y! :mmph: ).

So today the Verizon guy shows up to wire the house - and since I am going to be getting 15/2 I figured I should up the annty and at least have the LAN at 100mbps.

The funny thing is, I only had to recrimp my ends because I used the 10mbps schematic when I originally ran the cat5 those years ago.

So even with Comtragic still connected - W O W what a difference this machine has plowing over the internet (and my server folders come up faster too duh LOL).

Will post as soon as the guy is done crimping here, splicing there, and mumbling under his breathe everywhere :behindsofa:

mommalina
12-01-2006, 11:35 AM
Will post as soon as the guy is done crimping here, splicing there, and mumbling under his breathe everywhere :behindsofa:

Your computer expertise may be intimidating him. Like God watching
your every move! .. :)

Lina

TonyDi
12-01-2006, 01:04 PM
I only had to recrimp my ends because I used the 10mbps schematic when I originally ran the cat5 those years ago.

Dan - is the ethernet cable wiring different for 10 and 100 mbps?

-td

Dan18960
12-01-2006, 02:51 PM
Tony,

It use to be you just ran the color pairs (an ole AT&T trick), you didn't worry about pins 1, 2, 3, and 6 being paired off.

And since it was back in 99 / 00 that I ran the original wires and I was using Win 98se anyway it didn't matter about 10 / 100 and DIALUP!

Dan18960
12-01-2006, 09:54 PM
Well FIOS is in, router configured MY WAY (what can I say - I love the Burger King Ad), and ComDeceased modem is disconnected!

I am reliving the days of going from DialUp to Comcast -


:D :cool: W O W :eek: :cool:


The speed is AWESOME! Speed test shows 14532 down and 1788 up. Not 15/2 but sure beats 3/768k by a long shot!

Had one issue - since I access several of my systems remotely from time to time testing - the ActionTEC router only has 1 pre-set configuration for pcANYWHERE 5631/5632, I had to call Tech Support and they walked throught setting up a custom rule for my 5661/5662 ports.

Guest11
12-02-2006, 03:29 PM
Your computer expertise may be intimidating him. Like God watching
your every move! .. :)

Lina
Careful that isn't the only thing intimidating about him!

Sam Ceccola
08-04-2007, 09:46 PM
Well FIOS is in, router configured MY WAY (what can I say - I love the Burger King Ad), and ComDeceased modem is disconnected!

I am reliving the days of going from DialUp to Comcast -


:D :cool: W O W :eek: :cool:


The speed is AWESOME! Speed test shows 14532 down and 1788 up. Not 15/2 but sure beats 3/768k by a long shot!



Dan:
What speed test did you use? Fios was installed on my system last week and I would like to run a test.

Thanks,
Sam

Dan18960
08-05-2007, 09:42 AM
Sam,

I just used the speed easy back then (or what ever it is called when I went to google).

I have since replaced ALL of those systems and with the xtreme boxes I am now using it really flies.

Guest11
08-05-2007, 10:26 AM
Sam,
I always use www.toast.net "internet speed test" with "shuttle and text" checked as I believe it is the most accurate. Always run 3 tests and average the response too.

Sam Ceccola
08-05-2007, 11:32 AM
Sam,
I always use www.toast.net "internet speed test" with "shuttle and text" checked as I believe it is the most accurate. Always run 3 tests and average the response too.

Rich:

I ran the above and I am not sure how to interpret the results. Toast.net All-In-one Results, the bar grid says "Your Results = 11041kb"; Verizon = 2618kb; and Comcast = 3857kb".

I am on Verizon FIOS so is my result 11041kb or 2618kb??

Guest11
08-05-2007, 11:39 AM
"Your results" are "your results" Sam, the others are for comparison what someone on Comcrap or Verizon dsl would be getting on the same sweep!

Sam Ceccola
08-05-2007, 11:45 AM
So therefore my results are pretty good. I did switch to Verizon Fios last week and so far I have NO complaints. When asked by someone is it faster than what I had, I see no major difference. As you may be aware, I went from Comcast to Verizon.

Guest11
08-05-2007, 12:06 PM
Well that 11,000 is faster for sure than Comcrap, but when you run that fast I would doubt you would even be able to perceive the difference.