PDA

View Full Version : [Solved] What Would Cause Failure to Download from Site?



Guest11
07-22-2007, 12:03 PM
Something that started yesterday has become a bit of an epidemic. At the following website, I cannot download anything.
http://blogs.zdnet.com
I can go to the site but anything I click on just sits there on this one main pc with Windows Xp Sp2...in any browser which includes FF, IE and Sea Monkey.
I have checked in Security and see no blocks anywhere in all 3 browsers.
Where should I go next????
My laptop has no problems downloading anything from this site.
I use only Windows firewall and both pc's use Nod32 antivirus and Superantispyware running in background.

Seth
07-22-2007, 12:07 PM
Rich,

Try Safe Mode With Networking.

Guest117
07-22-2007, 12:27 PM
You speaking of navigating the hot links or something specifically you
are trying to d/l?:confused:

Seth
07-22-2007, 12:30 PM
You speaking of navigating the hot links or something specifically you
are trying to d/l?:confused:

That's what I was thinking too. I just went to the site and clicked on a bunch of hot links with no problem.

Guest110
07-22-2007, 12:31 PM
I tested the site and it is working

try turning off pop up blocker

Seth
07-22-2007, 12:36 PM
I tested the site and it is working

try turning off pop up blocker

It's either that or some other third party blocker. Let's see how safe mode goes.

Rich, also try holding down the CTRL key when hot linking.

Guest11
07-22-2007, 01:18 PM
You speaking of navigating the hot links or something specifically you
are trying to d/l?:confused:

Right I cannot open anything with the "hotlinks"...none of them.

Guest110
07-22-2007, 01:20 PM
Click on Start, then Run, then run the following commands. After you run each command, a small window should appear stating that the command was successful.

regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll (if that doesn't work, try shdoc401.dll)
regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
regsvr32 Urlmon.dll


try that

Guest110
07-22-2007, 01:26 PM
Also have a look here

Can be trouble with hyperlinks if your browser doesnt know which is default
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/IE/community/columns/defaultbrowser.mspx

dbarrow
07-22-2007, 02:46 PM
May not be you...
I have noted on rare occasion links from their main pages don't work for a while and later they do.

Guest117
07-22-2007, 02:58 PM
Opening some of the hotlinks I get a 'Privacy Report' that just shows
some cookies not being accepted from restricted site but it still opens
OK.
Once you turn off all your blocking aids, let us know which one it was.:)

Guest11
07-22-2007, 03:58 PM
May not be you...
I have noted on rare occasion links from their main pages don't work for a while and later they do.

Yeah but everyone else seems to be able to open them including me on another pc.

Guest11
07-22-2007, 04:01 PM
Click on Start, then Run, then run the following commands. After you run each command, a small window should appear stating that the command was successful.

regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll (if that doesn't work, try shdoc401.dll)
regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
regsvr32 Urlmon.dll


try that

Thanks but no change...

Guest11
07-22-2007, 04:02 PM
Also have a look here

Can be trouble with hyperlinks if your browser doesnt know which is default
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/IE/community/columns/defaultbrowser.mspx

I have always used Firefox as default and none of my browsers can access anything on this site.

dbarrow
07-22-2007, 04:09 PM
Any changes in your security settings?
I have no problem with either browser opening these links in same or new window and I don't see anything in the properties of the links being blocked by AdBlock, McAfee, or anything else that could do it.

How about your current firewall ... blocking re-directs?
A Vista thing?
Has to be some kind of security setting.

PeteF
07-22-2007, 04:11 PM
Yeah but everyone else seems to be able to open them including me on another pc.

First thing that comes to mind is...

Run... CMD, then... ipconfig /flushdns

---pete---

Guest110
07-22-2007, 04:16 PM
Is it just that site

what about www.download.com can you download from there

Guest11
07-22-2007, 05:21 PM
Is it just that site

what about www.download.com can you download from there

That site works fine...

Guest11
07-22-2007, 05:22 PM
First thing that comes to mind is...

Run... CMD, then... ipconfig /flushdns

---pete---

NO change...thanks Pete.

PeteF
07-22-2007, 05:51 PM
NO change...thanks Pete.

How about checking the HOST file?
It's got to be something that affects all the browsers on that computer.

---pete---

Guest11
07-22-2007, 06:24 PM
Good point Pete...I'll check.

Tech Test
07-22-2007, 06:59 PM
Rich

I'll cast my vote with BlackMirror, Seth and Nick to suggest that you look at pop-up blocking. I have had this problem a couple of times and was able to access the links after disabling all of my pop-up 'helpers'. I was amazed how much help I had - Pop-up Stopper (since removed), Windows Defender, AdWatch and Spybot were all providing protection on my home machine. Check all of your security programs, not just the overt blockers.

T T

Guest11
07-22-2007, 07:49 PM
You know I use nothing but built in popup blockers for FF and IE etc...but I forgot about Ad Muncher. Let me try that.

Guest110
07-23-2007, 03:38 AM
I have always used Firefox as default and none of my browsers can access anything on this site.

That might be the trouble

Set ie as default browser

also found this

Open Windows Explorer.
Go to Tools | Folder Options | File Types.
Scroll down to URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol (NOT URL:Internet Shortcut)
and select it.
Click Edit or Advanced, depending on your Windows version.
Select 'open'.
Click Edit.

"Application used to perform this action" should read:

"C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\iexplore.exe" -nohome
(Check the path to iexplore.exe to make sure that is correct and use the
double quotes.)

DDE should be checked and in the boxes below it you should have:

#1:
"%1",,-1,0,,,,
#2
IExplore
#3 (blank)

#4
WWW_OpenURL

URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol with Privacy should be the same.

Sometimes it is necessary to uncheck Use DDE.

Guest11
07-23-2007, 08:36 AM
BM I tried setting IE as default and it made no difference.

Guest11
07-23-2007, 08:34 PM
It just isn't a hijackthis issue. I have been busy all day and never booted that pc...I want to check it tomorrow because I forgot all about Ad Muncher and I would bet that is the issue.It is always there and it seldom causes any issues, so at times I completely forget it is there.

Guest11
07-24-2007, 09:57 AM
Well you are all right as it was popup blocking as there are a lot of ads on that site. Disabled Ad Muncher and I can download whatever I want to from there.

dbarrow
07-24-2007, 10:25 AM
Blame the site designers!

There is a huge gap in intelligent design for web sites and apps these days.
Popup blocking, be it third party, in the browser itself, or various security tweaks like script blocking, Java blocking, etc. has become a necessity and universal practice.
People are going to extremes to lock down and tighten up their browsers.

Web designers, in ignorance or arrogance, are not taking into account that the majority of users are now employing all kinds of blockers. Their web pages are becoming non-functional.

The problem... all this security leaves the user digging through the multitude of defenses to find the one little thing preventing the site from working and then having to decide and test which items to turn back on.

I get soooooooo PO'd at work with the sites we have to use and the web based app we have to use that mandate every form of blocking be turned off or they just won't work.
Go to any other web pages from these machines and you are bombarded with popup junk beyond belief to the point where doing any internet surfing just isn't worth it.
Of course, the IT idiots complain about how badly the machines get infested with junk with their "wide open" security.
In order to access any of my "work" related sites from home requires using a profile with most of the guard dogs chained and leashed and only using the profile for that function.

Dan18960
07-24-2007, 01:55 PM
I have to disable Admuncher to access ZDnet's links all the time - AND you would think a publisher of articles on security, flaws, and bugs WOULD know not to require disabling an ad-blocker!

:frusty: :der: :flame:

Guest11
07-24-2007, 02:03 PM
I have to disable Admuncher to access ZDnet's links all the time - AND you would think a publisher of articles on security, flaws, and bugs WOULD know not to require disabling an ad-blocker!

:frusty: :der: :flame:

So where were you when I needed you, you know I use Ad Muncher?

PeteF
07-24-2007, 03:36 PM
Web designers, in ignorance or arrogance, are not taking into account that the majority of users are now employing all kinds of blockers. Their web pages are becoming non-functional.


I totally agree, Dan. Most likely these webdesigners are not even aware
of the magitude of the problem because people typically won't take the
time to complain or inform the website that things are not working for
them.

Reason I say this is because I have taken the time to contact webmasters
on a variety of occaions to let them know about similar problems and they
give me attitude or are in disbelief because I was the only one who
complained. It just goes to show, if one person complains about something
there could be hundreds or thousands of other people thinking the same
thing, but didn't take the time to say anything.

Bottom line... If we come across these poorly designed websites,
we need to drop a friendly note to the webdesigners to let them
know about it.

---pete---

mommalina
07-24-2007, 05:57 PM
Rich, some time ago you said that AdMuncher and BitDefender don't work
well together. Can you tell me exactly what sort of problems were noticed?
Would like to know before BitDefender has to be renewed.

I forgot about your warning (I think it was during a chatrooom session) and
went ahead and bought AdMuncher so I could avoid the ads (with loud music)
during our chatroom session.

BTW, I do have to disable AdMuncher's filtering often; i.e., to read my Lycos
mail, Military.com, and many more. But it does stop getting flooded with
windows filled with ads, clogging up my task bar.

Thanks.

Lina

Guest11
07-24-2007, 06:03 PM
Lina I don't even remember saying that but I feel certain even if there was an issue, it must certainly be over by now as I have used both together on several occasions.

Dan18960
07-24-2007, 06:08 PM
So where were you when I needed you, you know I use Ad Muncher?

Well, I didn't think you could miss the cow in the tray munching away while you were accessing the page.

That is what gave me the clue with ZDnet.

Lina,

Rich has PLENTY of hair - I am the one with the German balding spot on my crown.

mommalina
07-24-2007, 06:10 PM
Lina I don't even remember saying that but I feel certain even if there was an issue, it must certainly be over by now as I have used both together on several occasions.

Had a couple of Trojans get through and wondered if
AdMuncher was interfering with BitDefender ... and I
don't do porn, and it's been some time since I've checked
out some foreign web sites.

Thanks, Rich! .. :)

Lina

Dell 4550, XP Home, SP2, XP Firewall, Verizon 3.0 DSL, Firefox 2.0.0.3,
60.00 GB, 84% Free Space, 2.53 gigaherz Intel Pentium 4, 768 RAM,
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420, Viewsonic VP 2103 LCD Display,
BitDefender 9 Standard Version 7.2, SAS Pro Version 3, 9, 0, 1008
WinPatrol 11.1.2007 (free), AdMuncher, HijackThis v1.99.1,
jv16 PowerTools (free), Spider V1.16

mommalina
07-24-2007, 06:13 PM
Lina,

Rich has PLENTY of hair - I am the one with the German balding spot on my crown.

Dan, I don't have a clue what you are talking about! .. :confused:

Lina

Seth
07-24-2007, 08:41 PM
To Dan:So where were you when I needed you, you know I use Ad Muncher?

Where were you for posts 2,5, and 6?:D

Guest117
07-24-2007, 09:04 PM
Where were you for posts 2,5, and 6?
And #12:
"Once you turn off all your blocking aids, let us know which one it was.":eyebrows:

Seth
07-24-2007, 09:15 PM
And #12:
"Once you turn off all your blocking aids, let us know which one it was.":eyebrows:

No no no Nick. That's too simple.

We have to edit the registry.

Terry Hanushek
07-24-2007, 09:42 PM
Seth observed: Where were you for posts 2,5, and 6?:D


Nick added: And #12:
"Once you turn off all your blocking aids, let us know which one it was.":eyebrows:

Don't forget Post 24 :D .... no Windows Repair necessary :eek:


Seth closed: Heh heh heh.

Whatsamatter .. you too good to use smilies :cool: like the rest of us?? :D :D

Terry

Guest11
07-25-2007, 09:18 AM
Unfortunately I missed that!!!

Guest11
07-25-2007, 09:53 AM
Had a couple of Trojans get through and wondered if
AdMuncher was interfering with BitDefender ... and I
don't do porn, and it's been some time since I've checked
out some foreign web sites.

Thanks, Rich! .. :)

Lina

Dell 4550, XP Home, SP2, XP Firewall, Verizon 3.0 DSL, Firefox 2.0.0.3,
60.00 GB, 84% Free Space, 2.53 gigaherz Intel Pentium 4, 768 RAM,
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420, Viewsonic VP 2103 LCD Display,
BitDefender 9 Standard Version 7.2, SAS Pro Version 3, 9, 0, 1008
WinPatrol 11.1.2007 (free), AdMuncher, HijackThis v1.99.1,
jv16 PowerTools (free), Spider V1.16

Lina,
Trojans really are not the domain of Bit Defender anyway, that should be caught by Sas if it's running in the background.