Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Help with QuickBooks Pro 2004

Need Help with QuickBooks Pro 2004

I am new to this product. I am starting at ground zero in learning it. I created a company and now want to start entering information.

I created a Petty Cash account and put money into it. At this point, I purchased some items from a store and use the CASH from Petty Cash. My items total $40.00 -There is $50.00 in Petty Cash.
    Example:
    Vendor: Lowe's
    item1 - $10.00
    item2 - $25.00
    item3 - $ 5.00

Items 1,2, and 3 are resell-able items. So I want to record those.

Let's say, I sell item2. How do I (or can I) record all this in Quick-Books?

When I pull a report (I don't know what one), I want to see Item2 as sold and item1 and 3 as still in Inventory.

Is all of the above possible to do using Quick Books Pro 2004?

If it is, another question would be using the same scenario above except the $40.00 spent was paid by Credit card. How would that be recorded?

Thanks,
    Sam

Re: Need Help with QuickBooks Pro 2004

Sam,

I believe all that you mentioned can be done in QuickBooks. Reason I believe this can be done is I saw an office where everything was handled in QB. Inventory, invoices, shipping labels, reports. However, I'm sorry to say, I don't know how to do it myself.
    -tony d

Thanks tony: I'm starting to go through this new book I purchased on QuickBooks Pro 2004. I've reloaded the initial data file several times so far. One of these times I may get it right.

Sam

Sam,

Did you setup your chart of accounts? Did you setup up your General Ledger, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, Inventory?

You also MUST realize that QB is a LOW level accounting package - it will allow you to delete any entry without more than a "are you sure" dialog box. It ALSO will change ALL of your pricing on an inventory item that can effect your P/L statements.